Beginning at the Door

Scrapbook page of my door and Janus medalion

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about how to get into right relationship with the spirits of my current house and the land that it sits on. I’ve always felt slightly disconnected here, more so than any place I’ve lived. To try to rectify this, I decided to do the Roman door blessing rite that was traditionally done by a new bride moving into her new home.  I’m not a new bride and we’ve lived here a while, but since we are set on a new spiritual course,  I thought it was applicable.

Over the door outside we now have a little plaque:  Felicitas hic habitat: nihil intret mali. (Happiness lives here, evil never enter!). Inside, I made a medallion of Janus, keeper of doors, to hang beside the door. I found a male/female Janus head online that I really like. It’s slightly “off-label”, as traditionally both of Janus’s faces are male, but I like the symbolism.

The medallion opens up to reveal a prayer: Biformed Janus, Source of years gliding by in silence, who alone among the Immortal Celestials sees his own back, Come, attend our visitors as your guests. Those whose labors secure delightful pastimes for the earth. And, Peace on Earth, Peace on the Seas. Attend and Bless Our House.

For several years before I even heard of ADF, I had been working on the concept of “right relationship”. I hope that my door blessing will help get me into right relationship with the spirits of house, land and family here.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clatters
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 17:45:16

    I really love the scrapbook pages. How very neat. Are you printing them out for a hard copy?

    Anyhoo. I love the door, I have always had a thing for Janus and gates.

    Reply

    • tlryder
      Sep 15, 2010 @ 08:30:33

      Thanks for the compliment! I am thinking of eventually printing out the scrapbook pages. When I submit my Dedicant work I’ll have to clean it all up to be academic, but eh. I have a degree in Anthropology; I’ve written a lot of academic papers. It’s important to me to approach this work in a way that nurtures my artistic side. I can make it look respectable later. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

